A bit of film love

ImageI saw a picture on my “blogs I follow” feed yesterday and the boys on it reminded me of the main character in one of my favourite films.

I have two all-time favourite films – Breakfast at Tiffany’s (a bit cliché I know) and, the film that I’m talking about above, Cinema Paradiso.

Whenever I mention this film to anyone, more often than not they’ve never heard of it. My dad made me watch it when I was about 14 I think. I was at home with him and I was moaning that I was “bored” – as you do when you’re a teen. He told me to watch this film and I complained that I didn’t want to because it was subtitled. He told me to give it a chance so I did. He put it on and then left me to watch it. When he returned over an hour later I was sat on the couch bawling my eyes out. Before you start thinking “why would I want to watch that?” – it’s not a depressing, miserable film; if it was, I wouldn’t have watched it about another 100 times since. It is a lovely story based in Sicily, about a friendship between a young boy and a local cinema projectionist. It tells the story of their love of films and of Toto (the young boy) growing up and falling in love.

It is a beautiful, moving story. No fancy special effects, ridiculous plotline or bad acting – just a proper “no frills” film.

I love old films (though for me this film is positively new, 1988 I think it was made). I love the glamour, romance and presence of the old screen actors and actresses – Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart, Katharine Hepburn, James Stewart etc.

Films like The Philadelphia Story, Donovan’s Reef, Casablanca, Sabrina are all classics in my opinion.

People get excited about things like the new James Bond movie coming out or the newest 3-D movie to be shown. Me, I’d get excited if someone said to me “there’s a drive up movie being shown in the local park and it’s To Have and Have Not.”

I’m all for technology and special effects, but sometimes I just want the basics. I want to watch a film where you can concentrate on the story and not the fact that an alien is flying at your face.

(Picture from: http://www.imdb.com)

Leave a Reply

